Introduction to Jeff & The Canvasback Gallery

June 10, 2010

The Canvasback Gallery, Easton, Maryland

Jeff & radio-marked Steller's Eider, Cold Bay, Alaska.

Ideas for The Canvasback Gallery came to life August 1, 2009 following the July departure from my other initial creation on the Eastern Shore…which was only a stepping stone!  Doors for The Canvasback Gallery opened the first Friday of the Easton Waterfowl Festival – Novermber 13, 2009. The Canvasback Gallery is the ultimate decoy gallery and source for vintage waterfowling collectibles. It is dedicated to Preserving Waterfowling History and Promoting Collecting Education.  It is located in the greatest and largest waterfowl town across the country – Easton, Maryland on the famous Chesapeake Bay! The Canvasback Gallery is my refined vision!  The gallery is full of old Waterfowling History!

I was born in Bremerton, Washington and raised in San Diego, California. I am a Waterfowl Biologist by trade. I earned a Bachelor’s of Science degree in Wildlife Biology from Humboldt State University, Arcata, California and a Master’s of Science degree in Biology from the University of Saskatchewan, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada. I received my early training in Waterfowl Biology at the world renowned Delta Waterfowl and Wetlands Research Station in Portage la Prairie, Manitoba, Canada. For my graduate thesis, I studied some important questions related to offspring survival of Ruddy Ducks in Minnedosa, Manitoba. I have studied other breeding and wintering waterfowl in the remote regions of Alaska and also throughout the prairie potholes of the U.S. and Canada. My research findings are published in prominent Ornithological journals. I have been employed by such organizations as California Waterfowl Association, Delta Waterfowl, Ducks Unlimited and the USGS Alaska Science Center. I am a collector, student and historian of decoys from the Upper Chesapeake Bay/Susquehanna Flats. I am a member of the East Coast, Potomac and Delaware Decoy Collectors Associations as well as the Havre de Grace and Upper Bay Decoy Museums. Over the years, I have successfully fused my enthusiasm for education with its business end, through the internet-based collector’s hub http://www.OldWoodenDuckDecoys.com. I am an avid duck and goose hunter and always by my side is Jessie, an 11 year old female Black Lab.

4 Responses to “Introduction to Jeff & The Canvasback Gallery”

  1. Terrific bio. A man who truly chased his passion. Great job Jeff.

    • jeffpelayo said

      Thank you Mike…Waterfowl have been a part of my life since I was a youngster…thanks to my brothers who used me as a duck dog when I was still too young to hunt! I know nothing else…just Ducks, Dogs and Decoys! Again, appreciate the kind words….JP

  2. D3 TV Blog said

    AWSOME Jeff!!! thank you for your time and efforts!!!

    jeff

  3. Mike Hruby said

    I’m really looking forward to following your blog Jeff!!!! Gonna be good stuff!!!!

Leave a comment